Life’s Simple Pleasures

6
f259f0d2e8bb86ff712689e57ccb1a5c

The main academic quad of my campus. Isn’t it beautiful?

Often times college students are stuck indoors while finishing assignments for their classes. In addition to that, I do the stereotypical internet person thing of browsing the web quite a bit. So I’m only outside when walking to destinations and those moments are usually rushed. My mother always preached to me how something as simple as stopping to look at a tree can yield great pleasure. My college career is almost over and very rarely have I taken advantage of the beautiful scenery my college has to offer. Rarely have I gone outdoors just to look at the variety of flora our college has to offer. Being a hippy dippy college there are a variety of rare species planted on campus for study as well as grand old trees that are a couple of hundred years old. As I’m writing this, right now I’m regretting not having taken advantage of the beautiful sunny day that just passed to wander campus soaking in the beautiful scenery. After I graduate I will not have the opportunity to do this again except for the occasional alumni visit. This stream of thought made me think about life’s simple pleasures. Even though I may be missing out on admiring the greenery around me, there are a lot of little things in my life that consciously keep me entertained. Things I don’t have to directly pay money for, or come with little to no effort on my part, or things that naturally happen due to the way I operate. Simple pleasures just happen, often taken for granted, but they constitute a great part of individual happiness because they are ever present. So here I give you a list of my simple pleasures.
 

 Giggling To Myself

imagesSometimes a humorous thought will pop into my head at random. I’m a little too good at laughing at my own jokes/silliness, you could say. Being an introvert doesn’t mean I spend my isolated moments without my share of fun.  Recently I took a look at my gravatar profile picture and couldn’t stop giggling. Here I am responding to some really positive, upbeat comments with smiley faces and my own positive reinforcement. Then I look at my profile picture and see this nervous, frowning, yellow guy who doesn’t look like the positive upbeat type. That contradiction made me laugh and I laughed even more at the thought that there’s no way I’m going to change it. That profile picture embodies my awkwardness and general introvertedness too well. As people get to know me they will see past that initial barrier and realize I am a pretty positive and upbeat person, but that won’t show through from first impressions. At least that’s the way it works with personal interaction. The internet is slightly different, but I feel many people will say that is still the case. So I sat there giggling to myself as my roommate walked past. He must have thought I was watching a funny Youtube video, but truth be told I was just laughing to myself. I really enjoy doing that because it reinforces to me that I don’t need an external stimulus to laugh. I can pull thoughts, memories, and ideas from myself and be content enough. It reassures me that I’m in a good mental state at that moment.
 

Bringing Up “That Time”

imagesLaughing is too pleasurable to only list one simple pleasure related to laughter. My cousins and I are pretty much like siblings since I’m an only child. There are one word to three word phrases I can mention and we will immediately break out into laughter, without fail. It automatically evokes a happy memory we shared together. One time my cousins and I were playing basketball outside on the driveway. My cousin Nick told my younger cousin Vin that his shorts were too short and he should stop letting his mom dress him so he doesn’t look like he’s wearing boxers all the time. Vin was in elementary school, and being the goofball he is he lowered his shorts so the ends were touching his sneakers. “Is this good”, Vin said, but we were already howling with laughter at how ridiculous he looked since he could barely walk and his underwear was showing. The fact that he was doing this in broad daylight was also equally ridiculous. Then Vin randomly started rolling back and forth on the grassy hill adjacent to the driveway, babbling to himself. Nick and I were so busy laughing we didn’t hear our uncle, Vin’s dad, walking out to greet us. Needless to say he had quite the expression on his face, not knowing what was going on. Nick and I got a pretty good scolding for “encouraging” Vin to act so silly, but that just added to the fondness we have for the memory. If I mention “whitey tighties” then all of us immediately start laughing while thinking of this incident.
 

Listening To A Song On Repeat

8016994431_eab4c7be73My musical diet is quite varied, but one phenomenon stays constant. I have one song at a particular moment that I deeply connect with. I’ll let the song play on repeat as I write and browse the internet, simply soaking in its message. Throughout the entirety of high school I constantly spent time collecting music and now I have a collection of 7500 songs. In college I reached a point where I didn’t feel the need to collect music at such a rapid pace. If I found something I liked, I would look it up whenever I felt like it, but there was no sense of urgency to be had. I attribute this to the fact that I have enough music to keep me occupied. Now I can enjoy the simple pleasure of pulling up whatever song I connect with at the moment. I always find what I need without fail. When I feel homesick or in need of comfort I pull up classic rock or blues because that’s what my father raised me on. I immediately get pulled back to my childhood home, sitting by the fire place as my dad and I blasted our favorite classic tunes. We moved to a different house last year, but that feeling and that house lives on in my musical memories. In this way music takes me on journeys and speaks the words to me that I need to hear. Hitting the play button is such a trivial action, and I have all the music I need; I can simply sit down with my computer to play my favorite tracks.

Recently my song has been “Simple Man” by Lynyrd Skynyrd, which inspired me to pay homage to the simple pleasures in my life.

Take your time, don’t live too fast
Troubles will come and they will pass
You’ll find a woman and you’ll find love
And don’t forget, son, there is someone up above
And be a simple kind of man
Be something you love and understand
Be a simple kind of man
Won’t you do this for me, son, if you can

 

Take a look outside your window at the greenery around you. Go on an aimless walk outside. Doodle away in an unused notebook. Take a nap with your favorite pillow. Simple pleasures are all around us.

6 comments on “Life’s Simple Pleasures

  1. As they say “The best things in life are free” 😀 Now I want to go to the park and appreciate nature 😀 Thanks for this!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. iggy23 says:

    Man, you have 7500 songs? That’s insane compared to my 800-something in my iPod. I liked the part about the music though because some songs remind me of certain points in my life. It’s like when I hear a song which I got during my army days, I instantly get reminded of those times and I just feel nostalgic all over. And yes, giggling to myself is so fun. I used to do it so often during one of my classes that my sitting partner would just laugh at me laughing. I didn’t even know what was so funny but I was laughing. I would think that reminiscing with friends about our past makes us laugh like how you do with your cousins. Every time we have a catch up session it’s just all about shit we did and embarrassing stories all day long. Very nice post today!

    Liked by 1 person

    • royyman32 says:

      I’m glad you found these moments relatable. I’ve spent over 10 years collecting those 7500 songs so its persistence I guess. It’s mostly just stuff I grew up listening to or songs I connected with over time. That’s awesome that you giggle too. I wish more people would laugh freely, it’s such a liberating experience.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What a wonderful post. It is true, sometimes the simplest of pleasures (well, actually, most times) are the most rewarding — and they are so easy to ‘get.’ I admire your mother for teaching you this. It is perhaps one of the most important lessons to learn in life. It makes all the difference between an everyday life of grateful happiness and that of grumpy blindness. I can’t wait to hear more of what makes you happy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What's On Your Mind?

