30 Days In Review (April 2015)

18

I can hardly believe it myself, but I just completed my second month of daily blogging. So much has happened this month and I feel that the blog has established a solid identity. Last month I stated that one poem and one short story would be part of my weekly posts. I am really happy to say that I have kept up with that so far. More recently I decided to use my own photos for my featured images. I started an Instagram and I keep my photo inspirations there so you can check that out if you would like a look into what’s sparking my creative interests. Hopefully I can continue taking pictures for my posts; I feel it has really added some character to the blog. Additionally I’m glad to say that all my goals from last month were accomplished.

My Favorite Posts:

Looking back on my writing, I can see some of my work starting to pay off. Last month I mentioned how new I was to creative writing and how I desired to experimentally post a poem and a short story each week. This month I can say I understand creative writing slightly better. I am no longer clueless when it comes to expressing my ideas in poem or short story form. Also I ran into the problem of becoming rather long-winded without even knowing it. I was churning out so many pages of text between my school assignments and the blog that I would look up at my drafted post and see 2000 words in front of me. That’s not a bad thing, but something I have become mindful of. A large train of thought usually builds up to a post and I eventually established the habit of explaining technicalities and counterpoints within my posts. While that is appropriate for the academic term papers I am writing, that really does not have a place on the blog. Making fully complete statements is really for the purpose of academic debate and I’m pretty sure it’s more like drilling an idea into a casual reader’s brain if I implement that strategy in my blog writing. It’s an awkward feeling; I’m learning new writing skills that modify what the formal writing process has taught me. However, it has been extremely rewarding to apply my informative and creative skills here on the blog, at the same time. Writing in this manner keeps me well -rounded.

The hidden factor about my writing that I’d like to share is simply the grind. The labors of keeping this blog have been rewarding at times and it has really tested my dedication other times. Before I continue, I wish to state that I wouldn’t have it any other way. It’s a beautiful feeling when thought flows directly from my head onto the paper. That inspiration will not always be there, but pushing my limits on the rougher days is equally rewarding. From teaching writing and writing myself, I get the hunch that there are two components to days where I have to grind out a blog post. The first component is my ability to write the post I envision using the writing techniques necessary. Sometimes there are no other contributing factors besides the fact that I face the challenge of writing in newfound ways while writing for this blog. The second component is the amount of total writing related activities I am doing in a day. The end of the semester has brought term papers yet again, so some days I have been drafting numerous pages and then shifting gears to write my blog post. In total pages I could have easily written 100 pages last week between blog writing and academic assignments. I still stand by the notion that writing frequently pays dividends and I guarantee you that I have made quite a few sacrifices to maintain this blog. In the end, it’s all been very worth it to me.

Some Life Events

  • Tomorrow is my last day of undergraduate classes. I have very mixed feelings about graduating in another two weeks. I’m sorely going to miss my friends, but I am more than ready to finish being a student and move on to the working world.
  • I started drafting final papers for both my economics and mathematics seminars. My math paper concerns the history and research related to Goldbach’s Conjecture. The Conjecture states that “every even integer greater than 2 can be expressed as the sum of two primes.” (it hasn’t been proven yet). My economics paper is about drug trafficking in the area around my college and how related crimes in nearby townships are decreasing the quality of life for local residents.
  • I regained my sense of humor finally. Last month I described how I suffered through a bout of depression. At the start of this month I realized that I hadn’t been cracking jokes at my usual steady pace. Therefore I might have gone weeks without laughing, which is unacceptable in my book.
  • Still watching NBA basketball and now the playoffs have arrived! I’m rooting for James Harden and the Houston Rockets. For some reason I can’t vocalize, I really don’t like the San Antonio Spurs. I sincerely hope the Rockets dumpster them in the second round. I can just imagine my mother reminding me, “Adi, the Spurs still play good basketball.” Ugh, someone stop them from getting to the finals please.
  • I’m single again, but I’m absolutely loving it. The breakup was quite traumatic, but I honestly learned so much about myself through the process that I can say I’m thankful for it. I can now look back on the events without erupting with hate and anger.

Some Goals I Have For The Blog:

  • I realized when I first introduced humor to a few blog posts this month, that I needed to establish a certain comfort level before I was able to write such posts. Having reached that comfort level, I’d like to be mindful of sharing my humorous thoughts. I think it would be overkill to say “x funny things shall be said in s amount of time”. So I’ll trust myself a little bit and simply state that I aim to write more humorous posts since it keeps me positive and it’s always a refreshing addition.
  • The site logo is a picture I pulled off the internet that I technically don’t haveΒ the rights to. I’m referring to the picture of the computer. My cousin is an artsy design person and I’ll ask her if she would be willing to create a new logo for me. Otherwise I’ll just commission an artist to do it for me. Regardless that logo is being replaced and hopefully I get an even cooler one to replace it.
  • This may be a more long-term project, but I’m looking at publishing an ebook. The ebook would consist of choice writing selections from my blog that I would finalize with edits for publishing. Kindle Direct Publishing through Amazon makes this process quite easy. My first ebook idea is to publish a collection of poetry and short stories. This may have to wait as I am going to be extremely picky about the quality of these creative writing selections. The second idea is to create an ebook concerning writing advice aimed at blog writing, but also encompassing tips for general writing as well. Just in case this nasty thought is creeping in, turning all my blog posts into book advertisements is the last thing I’m going to do. I will publish an ebook, and when that happens I’ll simply add a section to my site where you can find it if you wish.
  • I want to keep taking my own photos and using them as my featured images. It’s been fun altering my writing process to play off of the photo inspirations I have before me. Sometimes I look to take photos that compliment specific thoughts I have. Other times my creative energies are sparked from my photos. It’s been a colorful addition to the blog and I remain dedicated to regularly taking photos. Ordinary events can become very extraordinary sometimes.

I would like to say a quick thank you to all the generous people who read and follow my blog. Improving my writing skills is still my main purpose, but having people read my writing is quite a rewarding bonus. I have gained additional insights and connected with many wonderful people through blogging. Thank you for being such an accepting and thoughtful bunch.


The featured image is the human resources building on campus. Spring technically arrived in March, but many of the trees didn’t display their colors until the month of April. I thought this image could stand as a fitting reminder of the seasonal changes as well as the changes I have underwent the past month.

18 comments on “30 Days In Review (April 2015)

  1. Great job with your blog and really great goals! Also, congratulations on graduating soon. What an exciting time in your life. I look forward to seeing how this new chapter impacts your blog. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. iggy23 says:

    Wow it does seem like many things have happened in a month and you’ve had your fair share of ups and downs. But it’s good to see that you’re looking forward rather than dwell on what went on in April! If you do get that ebook out, I’m definitely going to have a look at it! Also, it seems somewhat weird that while you’re nearing the end of your time as a student, I’m just about to embark on mine. I guess that being a student won’t really be as fun until you look back at it once you’re done. I, however, am intent on making my final four years as a student the best years so I’m really hoping for something fruitful. Looking forward to some more good posts from you in the future!

    Liked by 1 person

    • royyman32 says:

      Funny how that works. I’m graduating and you have the final stages of schooling before you. From what I know of you, you seem quite intelligent and from that I have faith you can do well. Thanks for the support πŸ™‚ planning the ebook is going to take quite a bit of work on my part.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. GolNaran says:

    Great challenge & congrats!
    It was a great chance for me to join; learn and enjoy.
    I enjoyed “bench park” too much.

    My very best wishes for you and your creative adventures, ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I want too publish an e-book too, hopefully this year, bu we’ll see. Glad to know you’re back on your feet and kicking ass!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow! Congratulations on graduating with heavy courses like Math and Economics πŸ˜€ I think you’ll do great in the working/real world πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Love this! Very inspiring to me. Was the first thing I read as I was getting out of bed this morning. So wonderful to see someone smashing their goals!

    Liked by 1 person

    • royyman32 says:

      Thank you πŸ™‚ That’s so wonderful to hear. This is one of the few times I mindfully set goals and with the right pace anyone can do it. I’ve grown tired of not holding myself accountable.

      Like

  7. Reaching Meadow Lane says:

    Keep going you are doing a fantastic job!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Congrats on second month of daily blogging, something I definitely wish I had more time for! πŸ™‚

    Like

What's On Your Mind?

